Project Coffee Table: Completed!

coffee table and tablescapingRemember when I posted sometime last year that I wanted to make this coffee table? I finally got around to ordering the hairpin legs and buying the table top last month. Then after a weekend of unsuccessful attempts to find a power drill, my friend Maria lent me hers and the table was completed. It still needs to be oiled every few days for the next two months, but so far I have to say, I’m totally happy with the results.

For these photos, my sister Jenny (pictured above) helped me with the styling and “tablescaping”.  She says, “We wanted the coffee table to be the focal point of our living room, around which our friends could gather to sip single origin espresso and trade tips about holistic vets.” Ha! We had so much fun being tablescape artists for the day.

13 Responses to “Project Coffee Table: Completed!”


  1. 2 Lisa (sideoats + scribbles) February 18, 2011 at 3:44 pm

    MON! I love your table! Looks like you guys had so much fun tablescaping it, too! 🙂

    Love all the pillows on the couch too!

    AND! The Uppercase magazine! I am slowly savoring mine…!

  2. 3 lin February 22, 2011 at 3:38 pm

    Mon!!I love this! I want to make one too! Where did you get your table top?

    • 4 mon February 23, 2011 at 10:09 pm

      thanks lin! table top is from ikea! i just sent you an email with more details.

      • 5 James June 15, 2012 at 12:04 pm

        Hello Mon! Would I be able to get the details of this table too. Which table top did you get from Ikea and what is the height of the hair pin legs. I’m going to make my own table top but I think the dimensions of this one is perfect. Thanks for your help!!!

  3. 6 silvia February 24, 2011 at 9:53 am

    looks fantastic! great job! 🙂

  4. 7 Mung Lar February 27, 2011 at 11:10 am

    Mon,

    Love the coffee table! Do you think a higher desk version can be done?

    ml

  5. 8 patrickryan Navarro June 16, 2013 at 8:14 pm

    Did you use the VIKA FURUSKOG table top from IKEA?

    • 9 mon June 16, 2013 at 8:19 pm

      Hi Patrick,
      I used the NUMERÄR table top in oak. (found in the custom kitchen section). I bought the shortest length available. Hope that helps!

  6. 10 Daniel July 23, 2013 at 5:31 pm

    What are the measurements of your table?

    • 11 mon July 23, 2013 at 9:07 pm

      Hi Daniel,
      I used the NUMERÄR table top in oak. (found in the custom kitchen section). I bought the shortest length available.
      The legs are 14″ tall.Hope that helps!

      • 12 Daniels July 23, 2013 at 9:13 pm

        Thanks! I never thought to look at countertops. Did you stain it? What type of oil are you using to treat it

      • 13 mon July 23, 2013 at 9:17 pm

        I sanded it and used the clear Ikea stain that they recommended. Haven’t treated it with any type of oil yet…


Leave a Reply

Hello!

My name is Mon and I live in San Francisco. This blog is a place where I can share the things I enjoy doing. Including but not limited to: sewing, crafting, drawing, stamping, eating, day-dreaming...Thanks for visiting!
-------------------------------

I’m participating in:

sketchbook project

My photos on Flickr!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 17 other followers

Contact

weiwabo@gmail.com
© 2009-2011 by Mon Thai. All rights reserved. All photos are taken by me unless otherwise noted. If you would like to use any content or photos from this blog for other purposes, please contact me. Thanks!

